代理主任雷亞宣布離開美國專利商標局

布賴恩·弗萊徹2013年9月12日

REA 在郵件中發送的2013年9月12日所有員工USPTO副主任和美國專利商標局鄧麗君斯坦尼克雷阿代理主任宣布她的離開從美國專利商標局“在不久的將來。”該消息意味著一個新董事將被命名為很快。 與里亞的離去,並與工作人員的新的行政剛剛宣布,美國專利商標局正在經歷領導的頂層成交量的不尋常的金額。 祝愿雷亞女士在她的未來努力。

雷阿的的消息全文如下:

主題:從副主任特雷莎斯坦尼克雷亞的消息

親愛的同事們,

這是一個巨大的榮譽和真正的快樂與你擔任副主任,美國專利商標局代理主任,美國自己的“創新機構。”這是深表讚賞和感謝,我告訴你,我已經決定離開該機構在不久的將來。

我加入了美國專利和商標局2011年3月,作為副主任,並已榮幸地服務於一個歷史性的時間,這個機構。 至於副手戴夫Kappos,我有幸參與到我們機構的執行歷史專利改革,以及不斷努力服務和參與我們的利益相關者和公眾在我們業務的所有領域我們的整個生活方式的現代化。

我們的高級領導團隊行使真正的願景,以確保我們在政府設定的卓越標準,並授權所有的你繼續做你做了令人難以置信的工作。 那執著體現在我們的迅速崛起,在頂部的地方之一的排名在聯邦政府工作。 這是我的預期,我們將很快迎來一個新的導演誰將會繼續指導該機構的出色工作。 在那之前,我會盡我所能,以確保平穩過渡。

感謝您與您服務的特權。

鄧麗君斯坦尼克雷亞
商務部副部長的知識產權及
美國專利和商標辦公室副主任

USPTO將舉辦第18屆年度獨立發明人會議

布賴恩·弗萊徹2013年9月11日

AlexBanner_HP 美國專利和商標局(USPTO)宣布,將舉辦第18屆年度獨立發明人會議十月11日至12日,2013年,在美國專利商標局總部設在弗吉尼亞州亞歷山大。 與會者將有機會以滿足一對之一,資深專家USPTO和參加小組和分組討論解決有關現代發明家和小企業主的特定知識產權議題。 這是新的和有經驗的企業主及發明家優良的教育和交流的機會。

美國專利商標局的高級官員和專家將提供有關專利,商標等知識產權(IP)方面的實用信息,而成功的企業老闆和發明家將涉及把自己的想法推向市場的他們的個人經歷。 此外,來自政府,法律和業務發展實體的代表將討論商業最佳實踐,並描述了他們的組織提供的資源。 預會議工作坊將在週四,10月10日晚上的地方。

更多信息,包括方向,會議議程和RSVP細節可以發現這裡

USPTO將舉辦美國發明法兩週年論壇

2013年9月4日

今天,美國專利和商標局(USPTO)宣布將舉辦美國發明法(AIA)兩週年論壇上週一,2013年9月16日,從下午1:00至下午5:00 ET在麥迪遜北禮堂在美國專利商標局總部設在弗吉尼亞州亞歷山大。 公開會議將作為一個契機,[...]

閱讀完整的文章→

美國專利商標局專利升級全文及圖像數據庫

2013年8月26日

美國專利和商標局(USPTO)已升級USPTO全文和圖像數據庫。 此次升級,該專利界一直要求了多年,使用PDF圖像,而不是TIFF圖像,並提供了一些新的利益,包括打印整個文檔的能力。 專利的圖像,即,在專利的每一頁,[...]

閱讀完整的文章→

USPTO將舉辦在加州伯克利下一個軟件合作夥伴會議

2013年8月19日

美國專利和商標局(USPTO)今天宣布,將其託管在週四,2013年10月17日接下來的軟件合作夥伴會議,在法律的加州大學伯克利分校學校在加州伯克利。 公眾會議將提供一個機會,使利益相關方一起分享想法,經驗和見解,並[...]

閱讀完整的文章→

美國商務部出版綠皮書更新版權政策網絡時代

2013年8月1日

美國商業部公佈的版權政策,創造力和創新綠皮書在數字經濟(綠皮書)前進一組政策問題對經濟增長至關重要的討論。 該綠皮書討論了維護權利和異常之間的適當平衡的目標,法律仍然是[...]

閱讀完整的文章→

WIPO宣布新馬德里體系商標服務

2013年7月31日

世界知識產權組織(WIPO)國際局宣布,將提供新的特色服務,以更好地服務於馬德里協定和議定書關於商標制度的國際註冊的用戶的需求。 這些新的特色服務將可應要求提供與繳納費用,按照[...]

閱讀完整的文章→

Kappos辭去美國專利商標局主任

2012年11月26日

今天,大衛J. Kappos,商務部長的美國專利的知識產權和主任在商標局宣布,他將離開該機構圍繞2013年1月結束Kappos表示感謝該機構的員工,並表示它有是一個巨大的榮幸,帶領美國專利商標局在過去三年[...]

閱讀完整的文章→

美國專利商標局出版擬議中的規則來實現微實體狀態的支付貼現專利費

2012年5月31日

在一個旨在幫助獨立發明的舉動,美國專利和商標局(USPTO)擬修訂的專利案件的實踐規則來實現微實體規定美國發明法(AIA)的。 如果申請人有資格作為一個微實體,那麼申請人資格減少支付[...]

閱讀完整的文章→

USPTO將舉辦清潔技術合作夥伴會議2012年6月12日

2012年5月22日

美國專利和商標局(USPTO)將舉辦其第二清潔技術合作夥伴會議上週二,2012年6月12日,從下午1:00到下午4:00。 本次會議將在南大禮堂,麥迪遜大廈大堂層,位於600街·杜拉尼,在弗吉尼亞州亞歷山大舉行。 會議的目的是使[...]

閱讀完整的文章→

Acting Director Rea Announces Departure From the USPTO

by Brian Fletcher on September 12, 2013

reaIn a message to all USPTO employees sent on September 12, 2013, Deputy Director and Acting Director of the USPTO Teresa Stanek Rea announced her departure from the USPTO “in the near future.” The message implies that a new Director will be named soon.  With Rea’s departure, and with a new Chief of Staff just announced, the USPTO is undergoing an unusual amount of turnover in the top level of leadership.  Best wishes to Ms. Rea in her future endeavors.

The text of Rea’s message follows:

Subject: A message from Deputy Director Teresa Stanek Rea

Dear Colleagues,

It has been a tremendous honor and a true pleasure to serve with you as Deputy Director and Acting Director of the USPTO, America’s own “innovation agency.” It is with deep appreciation and gratitude that I inform you that I have decided to leave the agency in the near future.

I joined the United States Patent and Trademark Office in March of 2011 as Deputy Director and have been privileged to serve at an historic time for this agency. As deputy to Dave Kappos, I was fortunate enough to participate in our agency’s implementation of historic patent reforms, as well as ongoing efforts to modernize our entire way of serving and engaging our stakeholders and the public in all areas of our operations.

Our senior leadership team has exercised true vision in ensuring we set the standard for excellence in government and empowering all of you to continue to do the incredible work that you do. That dedication is reflected in our rapid rise in the rankings of one of the top places to work in the federal government. It is my anticipation that we will soon welcome a new Director who will continue guiding the excellent work of the agency. Until then, I will do everything I can to ensure a smooth transition.

Thank you for the privilege of serving with you.

Teresa Stanek Rea
Deputy Undersecretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property &
Deputy Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office

USPTO to Host 18th Annual Independent Inventors Conference

by Brian Fletcher on September 11, 2013

AlexBanner_HPThe United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) announced that it will host its 18th Annual Independent Inventors Conference on October 11-12, 2013, at the USPTO headquarters in Alexandria, Virginia. Attendees will have an opportunity to meet one-on-one with senior USPTO experts and participate in panels and breakout sessions addressing specific intellectual property topics relevant to modern inventors and small business owners. This is an excellent educational and networking opportunity for new and experienced business owners and inventors.

USPTO senior officials and experts will provide practical information on patents, trademarks, and other intellectual property (IP) matters, while successful business owners and inventors will relate their personal experiences of bringing their ideas to market. In addition, representatives from government, legal, and business development entities will discuss commercial best practices and describe resources offered by their organizations. A pre-conference workshop will take place on the evening of Thursday, October 10.

More information, including directions, meeting agenda and RSVP details can be found here.

USPTO to Host America Invents Act Second Anniversary Forum

September 4, 2013

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) today announced that it will host an America Invents Act (AIA) Second Anniversary Forum on Monday, September 16, 2013, from 1:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m. ET in the Madison North Auditorium at the USPTO headquarters in Alexandria, Virginia. The public meeting will serve as an opportunity to […]

Read the full article →

USPTO Upgrades Patent Full Text and Image Database

August 26, 2013

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) has upgraded the USPTO Full Text and Image Database.  This upgrade, which the patent community has been requesting for years, uses PDF images instead of TIFF images and provides several new benefits, including the ability to print full documents. Patent images, i.e., each page in a patent, […]

Read the full article →

USPTO to Host Next Software Partnership Meeting in Berkeley, California

August 19, 2013

  The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) today announced that it will host its next Software Partnership Meeting on Thursday, October 17, 2013, at the U.C. Berkeley School of Law in Berkeley, California. The public meeting will serve as an opportunity to bring stakeholders together to share ideas, experiences and insights and to […]

Read the full article →

U.S. Department of Commerce Publishes Green Paper on Updating Copyright Policies for the Internet Age

August 1, 2013

The U.S. Department of Commerce released a green paper on Copyright Policy, Creativity, and Innovation in the Digital Economy (Green Paper) to advance discussion on a set of policy issues critical to economic growth. The Green Paper discusses the goals of maintaining an appropriate balance between rights and exceptions as the law continues to be […]

Read the full article →

WIPO Announces New Madrid System Trademark Services

July 31, 2013

The International Bureau of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) announced that it will provide new special services to better serve the needs of users of the Madrid Agreement and Protocol Concerning the International Registration of Marks system.  These new special services will be available upon request and with the payment of a fee, in accordance […]

Read the full article →

Kappos Stepping Down as Director of the USPTO

November 26, 2012

Today, David J. Kappos,the Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office announced that he would be leaving the agency around the end of January 2013. Kappos thanked the agency’s employees and expressed that it has been an immense privilege to lead the USPTO over the last three and […]

Read the full article →

USPTO Publishes Proposed Rules to Implement Micro Entity Status for Paying Discounted Patent Fees

May 31, 2012

In a move designed to help independent inventors, the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is proposing to amend the rules of practice in patent cases to implement the micro entity provision of the America Invents Act (AIA). If an applicant qualifies as a micro entity, then the applicant is eligible to pay reduced […]

Read the full article →

USPTO to Host Clean Technology Partnership Meeting June 12, 2012

May 22, 2012

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) will host its second Clean Technology Partnership Meeting on Tuesday, June 12, 2012, from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm.  The meeting will be held in the South Auditorium, Madison Building, Concourse Level, located at 600 Dulany Street, in Alexandria, Virginia. The purpose of the meeting is to bring […]

Read the full article →